Governor Ricketts to loosen restrictions on child care programs in selected Local Health Departments

UPDATED 5.1.20

On Wednesday, April 20, Governor Ricketts announced that three addtional local health departments (LHDs) will switch to less restrictive Directed Health Measure that will affect child care providers in selected counties. The revised DHM applies to Lincoln-Lanster County Health Department, West Central District Health Department and Three Rivers Public Health Department and goes into effect on May 11. It follows upon a previous announcement that loosened public health restrictions in 10 other health departments throughout the state, to go into effect on May 4. As of the 11th, the DHMs will apply to 14 of Nebraska's 19 public health departments.

The revised DHMs raises the number of children who may be cared for by providers from 10 to 15 children per room/space. 

As of May 4, the revised DHM applies to:

  • Douglas County Health Department: Douglas County
  • Sarpy/Cass Department of Health: Sarpy and Cass counties
  • East Central District Health Department: Boone, Colfax, Nance and Platte counties
  • Four Corners Health Department: Butler, Polk, Seward and York counties
  • Loup Basin Public Health Department: Blaine, Custer, Garfield, Greeley, Howard, Loup, Sherman, Valley and Wheeler counties
  • North Central District Health Department: Antelope, Boyd, Brown, Cherry, Holt, Keya Paha, Knox, Pierce and Rock counties
  • Northeast Nebraska Public Health Department: Cedar, Dixon, Thurston and Wayne counties
  • Panhandle Public Health District: Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Kimball, Morrill, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan and Sioux counties
  • Southeast District Health Department: Johnson, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee and Richardson counties
  • Southwest Nebraska Public Health District: Chase, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Hayes, Hitchcock, Keith, Perkins and Red Willow counties


As of May 11, the DHM extends to: 

  • Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department: [Lancaster County]
  • West Central District Health Department: [Arthur, Hooker, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson and Thomas Counties]
  • Three Rivers Public Health Department: [Dodge, Saunders and Washington Counties]


Read Governor Ricketts' full media release about the DHM on the Governor's website. 

Posted May 01, 2020 in General
covid-19, child care,

Add a Comment

Comment Please enter the word you see in the image

All fields required